Undisputed Boxing Champions from 4 Belt Era- Complete List

Undisputed Boxing Champions

The status of being an Undisputed Champion in Boxing is unparalleled with different weight classes, several sanctioning bodies, and multiple champions in a division.

But the accomplishment does not only depend on a boxer’s skills but timing and boxing politics also play a major role in a fighter becoming an undisputed champion apart from several other unrecognizable factors. As the number of recognized sanctioning bodies increased, becoming an undisputed champion became much harder.

During the era of two sanctioning bodies, there have been more than 300 undisputed champions in 62 years. In 3 belts era of just WBA, WBC and IBF, there have only been 19 undisputed champions in 24 years. In the 4-belt era, only 13 boxers have become undisputed champions. Who are these fighters? Check the list of Undisputed Boxing Champions from the 4-belt era below.

What is an Undisputed Champion in Boxing?

By definition, an Undisputed Boxing Champion is a fighter who holds world titles from all sanctioning bodies in one particular weight class. From 2007 onward, there are four major sanctioning bodies – WBA, WBC, IBF, and WBO. There have been only 6 men and 6 women boxers to become Undisputed Champions since 2007.

List of Undisputed Champions in the 4-Belt Era

Cecilia Brækhus was the first boxer to get become an Undisputed Champion in the 4 belts era as she unified all 4 titles in the women’s welterweight division on September 14, 2014. Terence Crawford was the first male boxer to become the undisputed champion in August 2017. Claressa Shields became the first boxer to be an undisputed champion in two divisions – middleweight and light middleweight. The list of these 13 undisputed champions in the 4 belts era is as below:

  1. Cecilia Brækhus – Women’s Welterweight
  2. Terence Crawford – Super Lightweight
  3. Oleksandr Usyk – Cruiserweight
  4. Claressa Shields – Middleweight
  5. Katie Taylor – Lightweight
  6. Jessica McCaskill – Welterweight
  7. Claressa Shields – Women’s Light Middleweight
  8. Josh Taylor- Super Lightweight
  9. Saul “Canelo” Álvarez – Super Middleweight
  10. Franchón Crews-Dezurn – Women’s Super Middleweight
  11. Jermell Charlo – Super Welterweight
  12. Devin Haney – Lightweight
  13. Chantelle Cameron – Women’s Super Lightweight
  14. Naoya Inoue – Bantamweight

There have been 2 more boxers who held all four belts in one weight class at the same time – Bernard Hopkins(2004) and Jermain Taylor(2005). But, the WBO title was not a recognized title at the time.

Cecilia Brækhus – Women’s Welterweight

  • defeated Amy Yuratovac to win WBA & WBC female titles on May 30, 2009
  • defeated Victoria Cisneros to add WBO title on May 15, 2010
  • defeated Ivana Habazin to add IBF title on Sep 14, 2014

Terence Crawford – Super Lightweight

  • defeated Thomas Dulorme to win WBO title on Apr 18, 2015
  • defeated Viktor Postol to add WBC title on Jul 23, 2016
  • defeated Julius Indongo to add IBF & WBA(super) on Aug 19, 2017

Oleksandr Usyk – Cruiserweight

  • defeated Krzysztof Głowacki for WBO title on Sep 17, 2016
  • defeated Mairis Briedis to add WBC title on Jan 27, 2018
  • defeated Murat Gassiev to add WBA (Super) & IBF titles on Jul 21, 2018

Claressa Shields – Women’s Middleweight

  • defeated Nikki Adler to win WBC & IBF titles on Aug 4, 2017
  • defeated Hanna Gabriels to add WBA title on Jun 22, 2018
  • defeated Hannah Rankin to add WBC title on Nov 17, 2018
  • defeated Christina Hammer to add WBO title on Apr 13, 2019

Katie Taylor – Women’s Lightweight

  • defeated Jessica McCaskill to win WBA title on Dec 13, 2017
  • defeated Victoria Bustos to add IBF title on Apr 28, 2018
  • defeated Rose Volante to add WBO title on Mar 15, 2019
  • defeated Delfine Persoon to add WBC title on Jun 1, 2019

Jessica McCaskill – Women’s Welterweight

  • defeated Cecilia Brækhus to win WBA, WBC, IBF & WBO title on Aug 15, 2020

Claressa Shields – Women’s Light Middleweight/Super Welterweight

  • defeated Ivana Habazin to win WBC & WBO titles on Jan 10, 2020
  • defeated Marie-Eve Dicaire to add IBF & WBA(super) titles on Mar 5, 2021

Josh Taylor- Super Lightweight

  • defeated Ivan Baranchyk to win IBF title on May 18, 2019
  • defeated Regis Prograis to add WBA(super) title on Oct 26, 2019
  • defeated José Ramírez to add WBC & WBO titles on May 22, 2021

Saul “Canelo” Álvarez – Super Middleweight

  • defeated Callum Smith to win WBC, WBA(Super) titles on Dec 19, 2020
  • defeated Billy Joe Saunders to add WBO title on May 8, 2021
  • defeated Caleb Plant to add IBF title on Nov 6, 2021

Franchón Crews-Dezurn – Women’s Super Middleweight

  • defeated Maricela Cornejo to win WBC title on Aug 13, 2018
  • defeated Maricela Cornejo to add WBO title on Sep 14, 2019
  • defeated Elin Cederroos to add WBA & IBF titles on Apr 30, 2022

Jermell Charlo – Super Welterweight

  • defeated Tony Harrison for WBC title on Dec 21, 2019
  • defeated Jeison Rosario to add WBA(Super) & IBF titles on Sep 26, 2020
  • defeated Brian Castaño to add WBO title on May 14, 2022

Devin Haney – Lightweight

  • defeated Zaur Abdullaev to win the interim WBC title on Sep 13, 2019; promoted as champion on Oct 23, 2019
  • defeated George Kambosos Jr. to add WBA(super), IBF & WBO titles on Jun 5, 2022

Chantelle Cameron – Women’s Super Lightweight

  • defeated Adriana Araújo to win vacant WBC title on October 4, 2022
  • defeated Mary McGee to add IBF title on October 31, 2021
  • defeated Jessica McCaskill to add vacant WBA, WBO & IBO titles on November 5, 2022

Naoya Inoue – Bantamweight

  • defeated Emmanuel Rodríguez to win IBF title on May 18, 2019
  • defeated Nonito Donaire to add WBA(super) title on November 7, 2019
  • defeated Nonito Donaire to add WBC title on June 7, 2022
  • defeated Paul Butler to add WBO title on December 13, 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *