List of All UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champions & Championship History

UFC Women’s Bantamweight Championship is the main title for the women’s bantamweight division which ranges from 125 to 135 pounds or 56.7 kgs to 61.2 kgs. We will cover the complete list of UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champions, current Women’s Bantamweight Champion, and title history in this article.

UFC Women’s Bantamweight Championship History

UFC took over Strikeforce MMA in 2012 and brought in all the champions and fighters into the UFC fold. Ronda Rousey was the Strikeforce Women’s Bantamweight Champion at the time. She was then awarded the UFC Women’s Bantamweight title and became the inaugural champion on December 6, 2012. The title was defended for the first time on February 23, 2013, at UFC 157 where Ronda Rousey defeated Liz Carmouche. Ronda went on to defend the title six times, which remains a record for the title to date.

Holly Holm dethroned Ronda at UFC 193 on November 15, 2015, ending her 1074 days title reign. Meisha Tate later defeated Holm for the title at UFC 196 and Amanda Nunes defeated Tate at UFC 200. Nunes held on to the title until December 2021 for a record of 1981 days, during which she defended the title 5 times. Julianna Pena dethroned Nunes at UFC 269 to become the fifth women’s Bantamweight champion. Nunes defeated Pena in the rematch at UFC 277 to become the first two-time UFC Women’s Bantamweight champion.

Nunes announced her retirement after her successful title defense at UFC 289 PPV against Irene Aldana, and hence the title was vacated. Raquel Pennington defeated Mayra Bueno Silva at UFC 297 to win the vacant title.

Current UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion

Raquel Pennington is the current UFC Women’s Bantamweight Championship after beating Mayra Bueno Silva at UFC 297. The title was vacated by Amanda Nunes after her retirement at UFC 289.

List of UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champions

Raquel Pennington

7. Raquel Pennington

  • Title Won Date: Jan 20, 2024
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 120+ days
  • Event: UFC 297
  • Notes: Pennington defeated Mayra Bueno Silva to win the vacant title.

6. Amanda Nunes

  • Title Won Date: Jul 30, 2022
  • Defenses: 1
  • Reigns Day: 325 days
  • Event: UFC 277
  • Notes: Announced retirement at UFC 289, officially vacated on June 20, 2023
Julianna Pena UFC Bantwamwieght Champion

5. Julianna Pena

  • Title Won Date: Dec 11, 2021
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 229 days
  • Event: UFC 269
  • Notes: Defeated Nunes via second-round submission.

4. Amanda Nunes

  • Title Won Date: Jul 9, 2016
  • Defenses: 5
  • Reigns Day: 1981 days
  • Event: UFC 200
  • Notes: Defeated Tate in her first defense via submission.

3. Miesha Tate

  • Title Won Date: Mar 5, 2016
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 126 days
  • Event: UFC 196
  • Notes: Defeated Holm in her first defense via submission.

2. Holly Holm

  • Title Won Date: Nov 15, 2015
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 111 days
  • Event: UFC 193
  • Notes: Defeated Ronda Rousey via Knockout, first to defeat Ronda.

1. Ronda Rousey

  • Title Won Date: Dec 6, 2012
  • Defenses: 6
  • Reigns Day: 1074 days
  • Event: UFC on Fox: Henderson vs. Diaz
  • Notes: Awarded inaugural title on December 6, 2012. Defended it for a record 6 times.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *