List of WWE/WWF Undisputed Champions & Championship History


Check out the WWE/WWF Undisputed Championship history & the complete list of WWE Undisputed Champions

What is the Undisputed Championship?

An undisputed championship in pro wrestling is referred to a champion who has obtained all of the major individual championships during that era. In WWE, the WWE/WWF Championship from 2001 to 2002 was referred to as the Undisputed Championship.

History of WWE Undisputed Championship

In 1990s, only WWF, WCW & ECW were the major pro-wrestling promotions active in the united states. ECW was shut down in 2002 and its world title was also suspended along with it. WWF bought WCW in 2001 & became the only major promotion in the United States. in the coming month they unified WWF & WCW World Championship into a single title.

Chris Jericho became the first WWF Undisputed Champion on 9 December 2001 by defeating Stone Cold Steve Austin at Vengence 2001. The Undisputed Championship remained the only world title active in WWF for the next few months. WWF was renamed WWE in 2002 and with it, the title name was also changed to WWE Undisputed championship.

After WWE Introduced the Brand extension in 2002, they created separate rosters for both RAW & Smackdown. Brock Lesnar who held the Undisputed Championship at the time was moved to smackdown. WWE Introduced a new world heavyweight championship for the Raw brand after this the Undisputed Championship was also changed simply WWE Championship.

List of Undisputed Champions in WWE

1. Chris Jericho

  • Date Won: 9 December 2001
  • Date Lost: 17 March 2002
  • Days Held: 98
  • Defenses: 19

Chris Jericho became the first WWE Undisputed Champion as he defeated The Rock for the qulifying match and The Stone Cold Steve Austin in the title match.

2. Triple H

  • Date Won: March 17, 2002
  • Date Lost: April 21, 2002
  • Days Held: 35
  • Defenses: 2

Triple H won the Royal Rumble 2002 to earn the title WWF Undisputed Championship match at WrestleMania 18. at the WrestleMania event, he defeated Chris Jericho to win the title.

3. Hulk Hogan

  • Date Won: April 21, 2002
  • Date Lost: May 19, 2002
  • Days Held: 28
  • Defenses: 3

Hulk Hogan won his sixth WWF world title when he defeated Triple H for the Undisputed Championship at Backlash 2002. he was also the last WWF Undisputed champion before it was renamed WWE Champion. this was also the shortest reigns by anyone as the Undisputed Champion.

4. The Undertaker

  • Date Won: May 19, 2002
  • Date Lost: July 21, 2002
  • Days Held: 63
  • Defenses: 6

The Undertaker became the no. 1 contender for the Undisputed title at Backlash 2002. He went on to face and defeat Hulk Hogan to win the title at Judgment day 2002.

5. The Rock

  • Date Won: July 21, 2002
  • Date Lost: 25 August 2002
  • Days Held: 35
  • Defenses: 2

The Rock had a rivalry with The Undertaker & Kurt Angle in the lead up to Vengeance 2002. Where he faced both of them in a triple threat match for the Undisputed Championship. The Rock pinned Kurt Angle to win the title on that night.

6. Brock Lesnar

  • Date Won: 25 August 2002
  • Date Lost: November 17, 2002
  • Days Held: 84
  • Defenses: 3

Brock Lesnar became the youngest WWE World Champion at the time when he defeated The Rock for the Undisputed title at Summerslam 2002. He also remains the last Undisputed Champion in that lineage as WWE introduced the World Heavyweight Championship on Raw Brand.

7. Roman Reigns(Undisputed Universal Champion)

Roman Reigns Wrestlemania 38
Credit: WWE
  • Date Won: 3 April 2022
  • Date Lost: –
  • Days Held: –
  • Defenses: – 0

Roman Reigns got the status as the Undisputed Universal Champion after he defeated WWE Champion Brock Lesnar in the title unification match at WrestleMania 38. Roman held the Universal Championship since August 2020 while Lesnar won the WWE Championship at Elimination Chamber 2022. Lesnar was also the Royal Rumble winner for 2022, and decided to challenge Roman in the title unification match.

See also: List of WWE Universal Champions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *