List of All UFC Women’s Strawweight Champions & Title History

UFC Women's Strawweight Poster

UFC Women’s Strawweight Championship is the title for the UFC women’s division which ranges upto 115 pounds or 52.2 kgs.

Title History

UFC Strawweight Championship was introduced on December 12, 2014, in the tournament finale of The Ultimate Fighter: A Champion Will Be Crowned. Carla Esparza defeated Rose Namajunas to win the inaugural title. Joanna Jędrzejczyk dethroned her in her first defense at UFC 185. Jędrzejczyk went on to defend the title 5 times, which remains a record for the most successful title defenses for the strawweight title.

Rose Namajunas won the title from Jędrzejczyk at UFC 217 and later defended it against her at UFC 223. Jéssica Andrade defeated Namajunas at UFC 237 in Brazil to become the fourth champion. Andrade lost it to Zhang Weili at a Fight Night event in China on August 31, 2019. Rose Namajunas became the first fighter to win UFC Strawweight title for the second time when she defeated Weili for the title at UFC 261. After a successful defense against Weili, Namajunas lost the title once again to Carla Esparza at UFC 274 in a lackluster fight. Weili won the title back from Esparza at UFC 281.

Current Champion

Zhang Weili UFC Champions

Zhang Weili is in her second reign as the women’s strawweight champion. She defeated Carla Esparza at UFC 281 via submission to win the title. She defended the title against Amanda Lemos at UFC 292.

Title Reigns

Zhang Weili UFC Champions

8. Zhang Weili

  • Title Won Date: November 12, 2022
  • Defenses: 1
  • Reigns Day: 520+ days
  • Event: UFC 281
  • Notes: defeated Carla Esparza to become a two-time champion.
Carla Esparza UFC Women's Strawweight Champion

7. Carla Esparza

  • Title Won Date: May 07, 2022
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 184 days
  • Event: UFC 274
  • Notes: defeated Namajunas again to become a two-time champion
Rose Namajunas UFC Champions

6. Rose Namajunas

  • Title Won Date: April 24, 2021
  • Defenses: 1
  • Reigns Day: 348 days
  • Event: UFC 261
  • Notes: become a two-time champion by beating Weili at UFC 261

5. Zhang Weili

  • Title Won Date: Aug 31, 2019
  • Defenses: 1
  • Reigns Day: 584 days
  • Event: UFC Fight Night: Andrade vs. Zhang
  • Notes: defeated Andrade for the title in China, defended it once against Jędrzejczyk

4. Jéssica Andrade

  • Title Won Date: May 11, 2019
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 112 days
  • Event: UFC 237
  • Notes: dethroned Namajunas at UFC 237

3. Rose Namajunas

  • Title Won Date: Nov 4, 2017
  • Defenses: 1
  • Reigns Day: 554 days
  • Event: UFC 217
  • Notes: defeated Jędrzejczyk before a successful defense against her.

2. Joanna Jędrzejczyk

  • Title Won Date: Mar 14, 2015
  • Defenses: 5
  • Reigns Day: 966 days
  • Event: UFC 185
  • Notes: defeated Esparza at UFC 185, holds the record for most successful defenses in strawweight division

1. Carla Esparza

  • Title Won Date: Dec 12, 2014
  • Defenses: 0
  • Reigns Day: 92 days
  • Event: The Ultimate Fighter: A Champion Will Be Crowned Finale
  • Notes: became inaugural champion by defeating Rose Namajunas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *