AEW announces World Champion Title Match Contenders

On the final episode of Road to Double or Nothing, AEW has announced the contenders for the first AEW World Champion match.

AEW released the 16th and final episode of Road to Double or Nothing yesterday where comedian/actor Jack Whitehall did interviews with Tony Khan, Cody Rhodes, and Brandi Rhodes. During the end segment of the show, Whitehall went on to announce who will be the first contenders for the AEW World Championship.

AEW previously announced that the winner of Casino Battle Royal at the ‘Buy In’ pre-show for Double or nothing will get a future AEW World Championship opportunity. In line with that announcement, the first contender for AEW World Championship will be the winner of same Casino Battle Royale. The other contender will be the winner of the match between Kenny Omega and Chris Jericho at the main event of Double or Nothing. These two contenders will then meet in a match at a later date with the winner being crowned as the AEW World Champion.

AEW has announced the following wrestlers for the Casino Battle Royale so far with 5 more expected to take part:

  • Sonny Kiss
  • Brandon Cutler
  • Ace Romero
  • Brian Pillman Jr.
  • Glacier
  • Sunny Daze
  • MJF
  • Joey Janela
  • Dustin Thomas
  • Billy Gunn
  • Jimmy Havoc
  • Michael Nakazawa
  • Jungle Boy
  • Luchasaurus
  • Private Party
  • Shawn Spears

Double or Nothing will take place on this Saturday, 25 May at MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, US. For complete information, news and updates regarding Double or Nothing 2019, you can follow this link.