Hell in a Cell: Sasha Banks Beat Bayley For SmackDown Title

Sasha Banks WWE Hell in a Cell 2020
Sasha Banks defeated Bayley at WWE Hell in a Cell 2020

Sasha Banks defeated Bayley to win the SmackDown Women’s Championship in the Hell in a Cell match at the 2020 edition of the namesake PPV.

Former WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions, Sasha and Bayley are at odds ever since Bayley turned on Sasha last month. After their title match ended in a DQ three weeks back at SmackDown, Sasha challenged Bayley for a Hell in a Cell match.

At tonight’s event, Bayley entered with a steel chair but Sasha kicked that out of the cell before the bell rang. Sasha started the match on the front foot and looked for a quick Bank statement but Bayley slipped out of the ring.

Both women used the Hell in a Cell stipulation to good use. Sasha used the moves like sunset flip and meteora against the steel walls of the cage to cause damage to her opponent. Bayley focused on Sasha’s injured neck by attacking it with kendo stick wedges and other moves.

The final sequence saw Bayley hitting Sasha with Bayley-to-Belly on a ladder to get a near fall. When she tried the same move with a steel chair, Sasha countered with a Meteora and then the Bank statement with the steel chair to get the submission win.

Check this link for complete results & updates from WWE Hell in a Cell 2020 PPV.

Bayley’s One Year Long Reign Ended

This marks the end of Bayley’s 380 days title reigns as the SmackDown Women’s Champion. Bayley defeated Charlotte Flair on 11 October 2019 edition of SmackDown to start her second reign as the blue brand champion. This is the longest reign in the title’s history with Charlotte Flair’s 147 days reign coming second on the list.

During this time, The Role Model defeated the likes of Nikki Cross, Lacey Evans, Naomi, Dana Brooke, Tamina and Asuka at different times.

Sasha Grand Slam Champion

With the SmackDown Women’s Championship, Sasha Banks has now become the third WWE Women’s Grand slam champion. She had already won NXT Women’s Championship(1 time), RAW Women’s Championship(5 times) and WWE Women’s Tag Team Championship(2 times). Bayley and Asuka are the other two women’s grand slam champions in WWE history.

This is Sasha Banks’ first win in a Hell in a Cell match in her third attempt. She lost previous encounters against Charlotte Flair and Becky Lynch. You can follow this link for more such statistics related to Hell in a Cell matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *