NJPW G1 Climax 33 Participants Includes Kaito Kiyomiya & Eddie Kingston

NJPW G1 Climax 33

NJPW revealed all 32 members of G1 Climax 33 tournament during NJPW Dominion 6.4 live broadcast and included Pro Wrestling NOAH’s Kaito Kiyomiya and AEW’s Eddie Kingston/

The participation of Kaito Kiyomiya will be the third tournament and fourth wrestler in the tournament’s 32 years history that a contracted wrestler from Pro Wrestling NOAH. Jun Akiyama was part of 2003 G1 Climax while Katsuhiko Nakajima and Naomichi Marufuji were part of 2016 G1 Climax.

Similarly, Eddie Kingston is the third time an AEW contracted wrestler takes part in the tournament Jon Moxley in 2019 and Lance Archer in 2022 were the previous two such occasions. The complete list of wrestlers for G1 Climax 33 are as below:

  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Sanada
  • Will Ospreay
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • David Finlay
  • Shota Umino
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tanga Loa
  • Hikuleo
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Yoshi-Hashi
  • Toru Yano
  • Kenta
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Taichi
  • Eddie Kingston
  • El Phantasmo
  • Ren Narita
  • Evil
  • Chase Owens
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Great-O-Khan
  • Aaron Henare
  • Gabriel Kidd
  • Alex Coughlin
  • Shane Haste
  • Mikey Nicholls
  • Yota Tsuji
  • Kaito Kiyomiya

These 32 wrestlers will be divided into 4 groups of 8 for the round-robin league phase. The tournament will start from July 15, 2023, and the final night of group phase will end on August 10, 2023. The 4 group toppers will head into the semifinals on August 12 and the winners will then clash in the final on August 13.

Like every year, the winner of G1 Climax 33 will also get a shot at IWGP World Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 18. If IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Sanada wins the tournament, he will have the right to choose his opponent at the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *