WWE Royal Rumble 2020 Match Card, Storylines & Tickets

Check out the WWE Royal Rumble 2020 match card, storylines, date, location, tickets, start time and more details below.

Royal Rumble 2020 Poster
Royal Rumble 2020 Poster
  • Date- 26 January 2020
  • Location- Minute Maid Park, Houston, Texas, United States
  • Time- 7 PM EST(27 January 2020 12 AM GMT/4:30 AM IST)
  • Pre-Show- 5 PM EST(10 PM GMT/27 January 2020 2:30 AM IST)

WWE Royal Rumble 2020 will once again air from a stadium with the Minute Maid Park in Houston, the home for Houston Astros of Major League Baseball. This will be the first big event from WWE for the 2020s.

WWE Royal Rumble 2020 Tickets

Some of the tickets for Royal Rumble are still available. You can find buy the ticket from the link below.

WWE Royal Rumble 2020 Match Card & Storylines

Royal Rumble 2020 Match Card
Royal Rumble 2020 Match Card

The Fiend Bray Wyatt(c) vs Daniel Bryan- WWE Universal Championship Match

The Fiend vs Daniel Bryan at WWE Royal Rumble 2020
The Fiend Bray Wyatt vs Daniel Bryan at WWE Royal Rumble 2020 for WWE Universal Championship

Storyline- After moving to SmackDown, The Fiend started a feud with Daniel Bryan. Daniel Bryan agreed to a match against the Fiend at Survivor Series, only if the title is on the line. The Fiend successfully retained the title at Survivor Series.

On the next SmackDown episode, Daniel Bryan cut a promo, saying that his match against the Fiend had made him realize that fans are still behind him and announced the return of Yes Movement. The Fiend attacked him just after this and ripped off his hair.

Bryan then went missing for the next two weeks, returning only at WWE TLC to attack Bray Wyatt after his match against the Miz. Bryan later won the triple threat #1 contender match for the right to face The Fiend at WWE Royal Rumble.

On 17 January SmackDown, Kane returned to WWE after six months. The Fiend attacked Kane but Daniel Bryan made the save. But before Bryan could hurt the Fiend, he disappeared. Frustrated by this, Bryan asked for the strap match stipulation for the match so that the Fiend could not escape during the match.

Becky Lynch(c) vs Asuka- WWE RAW Women’s Championship Match

Becky Lynch vs Asuka RAW Women's Championship Royal Rumble 2020
Becky Lynch vs Asuka will face off for RAW Women’s Championship at WWE Royal Rumble 2020

Storyline- The storyline between Asuka and Becky actually started before at WWE TLC 2018. Ronda Rousey’s interference meant that Asuka was able to take away the WWE SmackDown Women’s Championship from Becky. Later, Asuka successfully defended the same title against Becky at Royal Rumble 2019.

Fast forward to 8 months later, the rivalry was reignited in a tag team match where Asuka, now a heel and WWE Women’s Tag Team Champion, used green mist on Becky to pin him. This was the first time in 5 months that Becky got pinned. A few more tag team and handicapped matches followed this and every time Becky fell short.

At WWE TLC 2019, the scene repeated itself with Asuka standing on top of the ladder and retaining her tag team title. After this, Becky pushed for the singles match against Asuka, even if meant that she had to put her title on the line. Asuka agreed to the match as she would very much like to become Asuka Two Belts!

Becky forced WWE to book her against Asuka by refusing to sign a new contract unless she gets her match. On 6 January episode of RAW, Becky punched Asuka in the face when Asuka came out to mock her.

On the go-home edition of RAW, Becky defeated Kairi Sane(Asuka’s tag team partner). Just as the match finished, Asuka hit Becky with the shining wizard and went on to put her in Asuka Lock, going into the Royal Rumble with an advantage.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of